Saturday, November 15, 2014

I.S. Elementary Robotics Team Wins Big at District Tournament

Please congratulate our elementary Robotic Voyagers team. Today, they received two awards during the FLL District Tournament. They received the award for Robot Performance and are the Kaua‘i District Champions. This qualifies them to participate in the state tournament on O‘ahu, December 13th. They are judged in three areas: Robot Design, Team Project, and Core Values.
L-R: Kilinoe Oliveira, Thatcher Magoun, Kala Edwards, Josh Dobashi, Cody Manibog, Bradley Pratt, Nate Sullivan, Ema-Lani Ebesu, Julia Schilleci, Liko Edwards, Colin Bedwell

Our Voyager team includes fifth graders: Joshua Dobashi, Ema-Lani Ebesu, Cody Manibog and Nathan Sullivan; fourth graders: Kala Edwards, Liko Edwards, Thatcher Magoun, Kilinoe Oliveira, Bradley Pratt and Julia Schilleci. The alternates are fourth graders: Tanner Hubbard and Colin Bedwell. They are an outstanding team!

There were ten teams, 16 judges from Island School and the community, and many volunteers. Many thanks to coaches: Nathaniel Evslin, Sue Macklin, Janet Powell, and to Traci Sullivan for coordinating the event. Also to the judges who served today at the event.